Ishfaq Ahmad iahmad at uta.edu
Thu Mar 3 13:26:31 EST 2011

Please post to your list. Thanks. Ishfaq

Motto: Sustainable Computing and Computing for Sustainability

Orlando, Florida, USA, (The Holiday Inn at Disneyworld) July 25-28, 2011,

The Second International Green Computing Conference, technically cosponsored by IEEE, addresses key issues and topics related to energy efficiency in computing and promoting environmentally friendly computer technologies and systems. The conference provides a forum for discussing, sharing and investigating the state-of-the-art for all aspects of green computing, which include energy-efficient use of computers, design of algorithms and systems for environmentally-friendly computer technologies, and a wide range of related topics. The conference seeks papers with unpublished material and previously unsubmitted material pertaining to the design and use of sustainable hardware and software systems, algorithms, and applications. The conference will hold forums, workshops, and tutorials on hot topics related to how the carbon footprint of computing can be reduced and how computers can contribute to the environment and overall well-being of the planet.

Topics of interest are:

. Power-aware software 							
. Configurable and renewable energy 
. Code profiling and transformation for power management 		
. Low power electronics 
. Power-aware middleware							
. Embedded systems, ASICs and FPGSs 				
. Power-efficient architectures and chip designs 			
. Power leakage and dissipation
. Resource management to optimize performance and power 		
. Power implications for portable and mobile computing 
. Runtime systems that assist in power saving 			
. Power aware networking 
. Models for collective optimization of power and performance 	
. Reliability of Power-aware computers 
. Monitoring tools for power and performance 			
. Use of sensors for climate monitoring 
. Algorithms for reduced power, energy and heat 			
. Smart control for eco-friendly buildings 
. Static and dynamic data allocation for distributed servers 	
. Thermal control of data centers 
. Efficient circuit design for energy harvesting 			
. Energy recycling 
. Power efficient cluster and enterprise computing 			
. Energy efficient power and cooling infrastructure . Component level power management, e.g., memory, disk . Power-aware applications

Review of Manuscripts

All submitted manuscripts will be reviewed by the conference Technical Committee and evaluated on correctness, originality, technical strength, significance, quality of presentation, interest and relevance to the conference scope. Papers must be received by the submission deadline to be considered for inclusion in the conference.

Best Paper Awards
Awards will be given for best papers in different categories

Important Dates:
Submission Deadline: Monday, March 18, 2011, 11:59pm, U.S. Eastern Daylight Time Paper notification: May 13, 2011 Camera ready papers due: June 6, 2011 The final appearance of the accepted papers in the official conference proceedings (through IEEE Digital Library) is contingent on two conditions:
(1) that at least one author of an accepted paper registers for the conference at the time of the submission of the final manuscript and (2) that one of the authors presents the paper at the conference in person. Full details of the conference may be found at the conference website:
www.green-conf.org. To directly access submission please go to

Several workshops on related topics will be held in conjunction with the Green Computing conference.
1.	Energy Consumption and Reliability of Storage Systems; 
	Co-Chairs: Ali Butt, Virginia Tech.; and Chris Gniady, U. of Arizona;
2.	Power Measurement and Profiling; Weisong Shi (Wayne State); 
3.	Thermal Management Dhireesha Kudithipudi, RIT;
4.	Low Power System on Chip, Partha Pande, WSU.


General Co-Chairs: Ishfaq Ahmad, University of Texas at Arlington, and Sanjay Ranka, University of Florida.
Technical Committee: Co-Chairs: Israel Koren, University of Massachusetts, and Daniel Mosse University of Pittsburgh;
Members: Tarek Abdelzaher, UIUC; David Albonesi, Cornell; Ahmed Amer, Santa Clara Univ; Martin Arlitt, HP Labs and University of Calgary; Hakan Aydin, George Mason Univ; Luca Benini, Univ. of Bologna; Ricardo Bianchini, Rutgers; John Carter, IBM; Ranveer Chandra, Microsoft Research; Vince Freeh, NCSU; Rong Ge, Marquette Univ; Sameh Gobriel, Intel Research; Rajesh Gupta, UCSD; Tohru Ishihara, Kyushu Univ; Randy Katz, UC Berkeley; Uli Kremer, Rutgers; C. Mani Krishna, U Mass.; Rakesh Kumar, UIUC;  Alvin Lebeck, Duke University; Yann-Hang Lee, ASU; Julius Leite, UFF/Brazil;  Xue Liu, UNL; Satoshi Matsouka, TITECH-Japan; Rami G. Melhem, University of Pittsburgh; Avi Mendelson. Microsoft, Israel; Bruce Normad, Lawrence Berkeley Lab; Lucy Nowell, DOE: Partha Ranganathan, HP Labs; Tajana Rosing, UCSD; Efi Rotem, Intel:; Anthony Rowe, CMU; Martin Schulz, LLNL; Ankur Srivastva, University of Maryland;  Osman Unsal, BSC, Barcelona; Shengquan Wang, Michigan; Dakai Zhu, UTSA. 

Workshop Chair: Sanjay Ranka, University of Florida, USA

Publication Chair: Saeed Rajput, Nova Southeastern University, USA 

Publicity Co-Chairs: Javier Alonso, Technical University of Catalonia,
Spain; Ming Zhao Florida International University, USA.   

Steering Committee: Behrooz Shirazi (Co-Chair), Washington State University, USA; Ishfaq Ahmad (Co-Chair), University of Texas at Arlington, USA; Rajesh Gupta, University of California at San Diego, USA; Sandeep Gupta, Arizona State University, USA; Ali Hurson, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA; Ashfaq Khokhar, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA; Francis Lau, University of Hong Kong, China; Sanjay Ranka, University of Florida, USA.
Keynote Speaker: David Culler, UC Berkeley. 
We look forward to receiving your submission(s), and hope you will be able to join us in Orlando in July.

IGCC'11 Organizing Committee

Note: If you would like to be removed from this list, please reply to this email with the word 'Unsubscribe' in the subject line. Make sure that you send your request to unsubscribe from the same e-mail address that received this email.

More information about the TCPP-announce mailing list